Notice: Undefined variable: sitename in /home/austroa1/public_html/templates/t3_blank/tpls/blocks/pbw_cap.php on line 17
Road Safety Task Force & Projects
Road Construction
Road Operations

Safety Task Force & Projects

Safety Task Force

The Safety Task Force has representatives from state and territory road agencies, the National Transport Commission, the Commonwealth Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development, and the Australian Local Government Association. 

The Task Force's research program relates to each of the four cornerstones of the safe system: safe roads and roadsides, safe vehicles, safe speeds and safe road users. The program has been designed to support delivery of the National Road Safety Strategy 2011-2020. The Strategy sets a target of reducing the annual number of deaths and serious injuries on Australian roads by at least 30%. It outlines ‘first steps’ actions to be undertaken in the first three years of the strategy and ‘future steps’ actions which will be undertaken after the first review of the Strategy.

The Task Force coordinates research that is working towards:

Road Safety Projects

The Austroads research program runs from 2016-20, in line with the Strategic Plan and Operational Plan. The current safety projects are:

SSP6081 Mitigating the Growing Drug Driving and Driver Distraction Risk
SAG6041 Road System Management Tool: Part A Scoping (ANRAM Phase 2)
SAG6043 Speed Management – A compendium of effective coutermeasures and strategies for government and the community
SAG6050 Online Survey Report of Road Safety Practices
ST1869 Implementation of the ANRAM (Australian National Risk Assessment Model)
SAG1871 Vehicles as workplace: prospects for more effective application of workplace safety requirements to the management of motor vehicle use
SS1960 Understanding and Improving Safe System Intersection Performance
SS2016 Translating Safe System Infrastructure Research and Knowledge into Practice
SS2034 A national approach to measuring non-fatal crash outcomes
SS2035 Safe System Infrastructure on Mixed Use Arterials
SAG2060 Finalisation of Part 6 of Austroads Guide to Road Safety - Road Safety Audit
SO2061 Delivery of Safe System Infrastructure Workshops
SAG2090 Best Practice in Road Infrastructure Safety Programme (RISP) Development

Program Contacts

The Safety Task Force is part of the Austroads Safety Program.

Safety Program Manager: David Bobbermen
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Safety Program Coordinator: Leonie Pattinson
Austroads | Level 9, 287 Elizabeth Street | Sydney NSW 2000
Phone: +61 2 8265 3335
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

News & Events

View more


National Office

Phone: +61 2 8265 3300

Level 9, 287 Elizabeth Street
Sydney NSW 2000

Member Organisations

Related Organisations


Privacy Policy

Terms of Use

Signup for Austroads News